Council of University of Wisconsin Libraries



Teleconference Call

Friday, January 23,

Present: Anita Evans, Leanne Hansen, Robert Rose, John Krogman, Paul Moriarty, Tom Murray, Lorie Docken. The agenda was approved as distributed.

1) Finalize CUWL February 2 Agenda

Discussion ensued about the charge and membership of two new task forces: Collection Management (CM) and Copyright & Intellectual Property (CIP). Initial charges for each group will be presented at the meeting. A number of individual names were recommended for these task forces. The CM group might include Barb Baruth, Jo Ann Carr, Tony Gulig, Ken Frazier, Ewa Barczyk, and Joan Robb. The CIP group might include Michelle Strange, Bob Rose, Arnie Arneson, Glenda Morgan, Ken Grant , Steve Barkan and John Krogman. John agreed to chair this group. The individuals will be contacted and a slate will be presented.

The agenda was then approved with a couple of small changes. A report from the UWSA Student Services Working Group and an update on CUWL Operating Procedures will be added. Dinner will be moved 30 minutes later. The meeting will tentatively be in room 213. Kathy Schneider will meet with institutions interested in a QuestionPoint discussion around . It was also recommended to raise the idea of a Directors WLA Roundtable during other business.

2) Nominations Committee

Bob Rose, Phil Schwartz, Peter Gottleib, Leanne Hansen, Ewa Barczk, and Anita Evans were recommended to serve on the Nominations Committee.

3) Green Bay Meeting

Leanne has agreed to host and will book a block of hotel rooms downtown. It was agreed that the meeting will take place Thursday afternoon, May 6th and Friday, May 7th.

4) Ex Libris Implementation

Marc Boucher from UW Colleges and Jon Musselman from UW Platteville will join the team. A February 10th initial meeting agenda is coming. Please send in names of whose coming. SFX training will begin in March.

5) LibQual Survey

It was recommended that regional or video conference training meetings be held soon..

6) Other Business

The group was glad to hear that Tony Galt is back teaching. Another faculty member nominations will be needed soon.

7) The meeting adjourned at

Respectfully submitted: John Krogman, Secretary